I thought I was gonna die …

What a couple of days it has been.

I have now put on over 600 miles this spring and I’ve climbed what I thought were some tough hills…

RAGBRAI isn’t a totally flat course. There are some rather large hills on the route.  It was time for me to start my hill  climbing practice in earnest and tackle the Allen Street hill.  I don’t know the elevation change of the Allen Street hill but I know even as a kid I avoided riding my bike up that hill. I always took Hilltop Drive when I rode my bike to the golf course. Allen Street hill, no way. But some how, some way I was gonna ride this trike up the Allen Street hill.

My first attempt failed. An hour later my second attempt failed but I got farther than my first attempt. A couple of hours later I made it. I thought I was gonna die, but I made it. My heart was pumping so hard I thought my chest was going to burst open like a cheap pinata.

Even though I made it I didn’t want to go back. My legs were still spindly the next day. But I knew I had to go back. I had to made it a second time.  I did. A little easier but not much.

Then I made it again this morning a little easier. I have a long way to go on my hill climbing training but I’ll be ready.

As you can see I now have a helmet.

Brand new … never been worn… still had the new tags on it…  made in October 1991.

One response to this post.

  1. Good call on the helmet. Keep going — and we’ll see you in Iowa!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

