I now own a tent

I really can’t believe it, but I now own a tent. The guy who for years has said “my idea of roughing it is a motel without cable or satellite tv” now owns a tent. And I’m going to be sleeping in it for seven nights. Getting in shape to ride across Iowa will be a piece of cake compared to getting in shape to sleep in a tent. I will practice putting it up a few times, but sleep in it before RAGBRAI … I will do that just once.

All material I read to prepare myself for this trip emphasizes the possibility of rain during the trip. Heavy rain. Summertime thunderstorms maybe. And I’ll be laying there in my tent. At least I would rather be in a tent than outside still riding in the rain. That’s called a lesser of two evils isn’t it?

Oh how I hope it doesn’t rain too much.

I keep thinking this is the 3rd easiest route ever.

Will the weather keep the trip easy … or will it make us really pay for it?

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Hank on February 17, 2010 at 10:25 am

    Oh Boy Arnie,

    Don’t look like any tent I’ve ever used. Looks more like a…………………………………coffin. Stay dry my friend.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

