Why RAGBRAI?

RAGBRAI … The Des Moines Register’s Annual Great Bicycle Ride Across Iowa.  And I’m going to do it riding my Sun  tricycle.

It’s a long story how this happened to come about. Over the next five months that story will come out.

For me it all started in 1984. That was the first year RAGBRAI came through my wife’s hometown of Tipton. It was the largest party Tipton had ever seen. I was there taking it all in. Thousands of bikers from who knows where, all having fun in one little Iowa city after another for a whole week. I was fascinated by the whole scene. The seed was planted that July night in 1984. But I didn’t even own a bike.

Tipton did not host another RAGBRAI until 2008. I was there again. That little seed that was planted in 1984 had laid dormant for almost a quarter century. I still didn’t have a bike … but now I did have a trike.

Could I?

Could I ride my trike across Iowa?

Leave a Reply

